Review

Bite-Sized Reviews #2

Iluminae – ★★★★ 

23395680

When I first heard of Illumiae and its crazy format, I didn’t think it’d ever be something I’d read or enjoy. But after repeatedly hearing its praises from literally everyone, I needed to check it out. And I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by how much I ended up enjoying it. I did find it hard to get into though. You’re thrown into the story and it took me about 150 pages before I had a clear picture of what the hell was going on.

So… the format. I did really like it but I do think it is its own worst enemy sometimes. It was great at moving the plot along, and because of the way its presented you can’t help but read on. However, the text messages and the interviews did stop me from connecting to Kady and Ezra as much as I would of like. They felt very surface-level, and so at times I felt like an outsider looking in on them and their relationship. I had more of an emotional attachment to the side characters than I did Kady and Ezra, which says a lot.

Other than that, this was a great read, and I would definitely suggest checking it out. It’s an experience from start to finish, and one I’m excited to do again in Gemina.

Three Dark Crowns – ★★★★

30240773-2

Ever since I read the synopsis for this book (three sisters battling to the death for the crown), I KNEW I had to get my hands on a copy as soon as possible.

This is one of those incredibly engaging, don’t-wanna-stop-reading type of books. Each chapter left off on these mini-cliffhangers, and because I liked all of the sisters, it lead to this vicious cycle of being unable to stop. I have to hand it to Kendare Blake for being able to write three characters that you simultaneously root for. But if I had to choose one, Arisone would be my favourite. She is my type of character, and seeing her develop throughout the book was just awesome. And like I said, I really liked the other sisters too, Katherine and Mirabella. Katherine was a bit whiny to begin with, but how she is at the end, has me ridiculously excited for book 2. Mirabella was way too uppity for me, which did rub me up the wrong way. She does get better though as you get to know her, but she is still my least favourite.

My one issue with this book, was the slight case of possible insta-love. I say possible, because something happens which may have led to it, but its never actually revealed if that is the cause. I’m really hoping it is, otherwise it’ll ruin a perfectly enjoyable book.

The ending of this book was INSANE, and its just one of the few reason I’m so excited for One Dark Throne to come out.

Adulthood is a Myth & Big Happy Mushy Lump -★★★★

 

When I saw that these were available at my library, I couldn’t pass them up. They’re basically a book full of funny, relatable scenarios drawn in a comic-strip form. And I absolutely loved both of them. So whenever you are in the mood for something light and easy, that’ll make you laugh (I was legit cry laughing in Big Mushy Happy Lump), I’d definitely recommend either of these.



So there you have it, a few bite sized reviews of books I’ve wanted to review.

If you’ve read any of these, let me know what you thought of them.

As always, thanks for reading

Marian ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Bite-Sized Reviews #2

    1. It’s good to know I wasn’t the only one who had issues with it. Though I’m glad you enjoyed it too. It just took awhile to get there. 😄😬

      Like

Leave a Reply

