Review

Book Review: Nevernight


29845906-2

Rating: ★★★★★

Genre: Adult High Fantasy 

Pages: 429

Blurb: 

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no ordinary school, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.


Even though I wasn’t planning on reading Nevernight until I had read Jay Kristoff’s other trilogy, The Lotus War, something about it just drew me in. I knew I had to pre-order it and I’m so glad I did, as it became one of the best books I read last year.

I didn’t know much going into Nevernight. All I really knew was that it was about a girl who studies at an assassin school and is on a path of revenge. And that tiny tidbit was enough to hook me. I personally love it when I can dive into a book knowing very little detail, particularly when its a fantasy. The first fifty pages were a struggle to get through, though. But once you realise what’s what, you’re flying through it.

Jay Kristoff did an awesome job of writing a book that kept me engaged the whole way through. I can honestly say that there were no parts where I wasn’t completely engrossed in the story. And once The Red Church was introduced, it made putting the book down very, very hard. I can’t wait to read the next book, Godsgrave, as the ending opened up the story in a major way. It’s probably gonna be just as brutal and full of profanities, and I’m so ready for it.

The thing that impressed me the most about this book was the writing. The way Jay Kristoff described simple things like the air, for example, was so imaginative and insightful. Every word felt strategically placed to invoke this unbelievably rich picture. I would say read this book for the descriptions alone, but the dialogue in this book was just as amazing. One of the best I’ve ever read.

I fell in love with Mia the minute she appeared on the page. I loved her attitude, her fierceness and how she wasn’t the typical heroine. What I loved the most about her character was how she stuck to her beliefs and didn’t let the Red Church change her. She could of easily been written as the hardened assassin (which is where I thought it was headed, and would have been interesting to read about), but I’m glad she wasn’t. Another thing I’m glad she wasn’t, which made Mia so relatable, was the fact she wasn’t the best at everything. We got to see her actually learn and fail. Mia isn’t perfect. She is most definitely one flawed character, but that’s what makes her so fascinating to read about. She is for sure one of my new favourite female characters.

One of the things I’m most looking forward to for the rest of the trilogy, is the expansion of this world. Jay Kristoff has created such a rich world, with so much history that I’m excited to learn more about. And while I’ve heard some people not enjoy the use of footnotes as a way to world-build, I personally really enjoyed them. I did not find they hindered my reading process and it was definitely a interesting way of going about it.

So all in all, I absolutely ADORED Nevernight. I had no clue what to expect. But whatever expectations I did have, it far exceed them. It’s an instant favourite, and one I can’t wait to re-read when Godsgrave comes out.

I’d highly, highly recommend it. 

Marian ❤ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Nevernight

Leave a Reply

