Wrap up

Winter 2017 Wrap Up

Ever since I stopped doing wrap ups, I’ve been looking for a way I could recap the books I’ve read. I personally found writing monthly wrap ups to be a massive ball-ache and they were never something I looked forward to writing. So why continue something you hate, right?

So after messing around with a few ideas, I think these Seasonal Wrap Ups are the way I’m gonna do them now. Basically, I’m gonna list all the books I’ve read over the three months, and then I’ll briefly talk about the ones that are my favourites.

Here are all the books I’ve read this Winter.

December

City of Heavenly Fire – ★★★★ 1/2 

Nevernight – ★★★★★

The Invasion of the Tearling – ★★★★★

January 

The Bad Beginning – ★★★★

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet – ★★★★ 1/2 

Binti – ★★★★ 1/2 

February

 

Adulthood is a Myth – ★★★★

Three Dark Crowns – ★★★★ 

One True Loves – ★★★★ 

Harry Potter and the Chambers of Secret – ★★★★★

The Fate of the Tearling – ★★★★ 1/2

white-5

Nevernight

29845906-2

Nevernight was one of the few books I read last year that took me by surprise as to how much I enjoyed it. I had no idea what to expect and it ended up being one of my favourites of 2016. Every single thing about this book was top-notch, from the plot, to the characters, to the unbelievably gorgeous writing. I urge everyone to pick this book up and give it a go.

The Invasion of the Tearling and The Fate of the Tearling

This was an amazing sequel and a satisfying conclusion. I had the absolute best time reading this series. It had everything I love in a good fantasy: complex characters, great writing and magic. This is a hard series to universally recommend, but if you like slow books with a focus on character development and don’t mind a magic system that’s quite vague, then definitely check this series out. It’s really good.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

24956528

After being on my TBR for quite some time, I finally got around to reading The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. It’s one of those books you can’t help but love, and I could see everyone enjoying even if they aren’t that into sci-fi. But what made this book so special was the characters. Becky Chambers did such a phenomenal job with them. And even though there were a few that took some time to warm up to, I adored each and everyone by the end of it. The one thing I wasn’t prepared for was the inclusion of social commentary in this book. Becky Chamber raised some great points on race, gender, sexuality etc., that left me thinking long after I finished it, which is always a huge plus. Highly recommend putting this on your TBRs.



So, there are all the books I read this Winter. I read some pretty great books, so hopefully that stint will continue on into Spring.

What were your favourite books you read this Winter?

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❤ 

 

Leave a Reply

