A Year in Review

Book Series I’ve Completed & The Ones I Want to Start in 2017

Today I wanted to share with all, the series I finished this year and the ones I’m looking forward to finishing.

So let’s jump right in.

All the Series I Completed 

Shatter Me Trilogy – ★★★ 1/2

After hearing so much about the Shatter Me Trilogy, be it good or bad, I decided it was finally time to read it and see what I think of it. And while is wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever read, it was rather enjoyable. I’ll for sure be picking up more of Tahereh Mafi’s work. Her writing is too good not to.

The Winner’s Trilogy – ★★★★ 1/2

It wasn’t until halfway through book 1 that this series really hooked me. Things just clicked and I ended up marathoning the rest of the books. I don’t know what it was, but there was something about this trilogy that made me love it. It’s definitely a series I recommend if you’re looking for a quick, fantasy-ish read that has a smart, plucky heroine.

Farseer Trilogy – ★★★★ 1/2

I did reviews for all three books in this trilogy, because I enjoyed them that much. So you can see more on my thoughts on Assassin’s Apprentice here, if you’re interested in reading this amazing trilogy.

The Lunar Chronicles – ★★★★ 1/2

I was so scared to finish this series. It took me months to finally get round to picking up Winter, but when I did, I was kinda mad that I took so long to get to it. I loved this finale a lot. I was so happy the whole time I was reading it. They’re all such feel-good books that you can’t help but adore. Definitely recommend.

The Raven Cycle – ★★★★ 1/2

I was late to the party on this one but I’m so glad I took the gamble on this slightly polarising series. It did take some getting use to, but once I did, I ended up loving this entire series. Hopefully, I’ll have enough time to re-read it in 2017, because I do miss these characters dearly.

Liveship Traders Trilogy – ★★★★★

Hands down, the best series/trilogy I’ve read this year. Every book was incredible in its own right. The epicness of this whole story still astounds me. Robin Hobb is just phenomenal and I can’t wait to continue on with the rest of the Realm of the Elderlings books.

Off-Campus series – ★★★★★

I’m so sad to see this new adult series come to an end. I enjoyed every single book and I’m really gonna miss the Briar boys. If you are ever looking for a decent NA series, the Off-Campus series is the way to go.

The Remnant Chronicles – ★★★★

I grew to love this series with each book. I was eagerly awaiting the last book and it did not disappoint. Lia has become one of my favourite female characters. Her development throughout the trilogy was insane, and it was what I liked the most about these books. I’m gonna miss these characters and this world a lot.

The Mortal Instruments – ★★★★ 1/2

I FINALLY got round to finishing off the TMI series. It’s been a long time coming and I’m glad I’ve finally done it. And even though I’m so excited to start Lady Midnight, I’m a bit upset that its all over now. This was another series that grew on me with each book (the last three books in the series, were by far my favourites). I never thought I would ever like this series, so I’m surprised by how invested I became. Thanking Booktube for introducing me to the Shadowhunter world.


The Series I Wanna Start in 2017

Some of these series I have no clue what they’re about. Others I’ve read/watched reviews on, and they sounded like they’d be right up my street. So these are the six series I’m hoping to start, and maybe complete, in 2017.

The Faithful and the Fallen

15750692

Blurb from Malice (Book #1)

The Banished Lands have a violent past where armies of men and giants clashed in battle. An uneasy peace reigns, but now giants stir once more, the very stones weep blood and there are sightings of gigantic wyrms. Those who can still read the signs see a prophecy realized: sorrow will darken the world, as angels and demons make it their battlefield.

Young Corban watches enviously as boys become warriors and yearns to join them, determined to make his family proud. It is only when everything he knows is threatened that he discovers the true cost of becoming a man.

As the kings look to their borders, and priests beg answers from the Gods, only a chosen few know that the fate of the world will be decided between two champions, the Black Sun and the Bright Star. And with their coming will be a war to end all wars.

Lightbringer

16131107

Blurb from The Black Prism (Book #1)

EVERY LIGHT CASTS A SHADOW

Gavin Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. His strength, wit and charm are all that preserve a tenuous peace. But Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live.

When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he’s willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

Uglies

24770

Blurb from Uglies (Book #1)

Tally can’t wait to turn sixteen and become pretty. Sixteen is the magic number that brings a transformation from repellent Ugly into a stunningly attractive Pretty, and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks, Tally will be there.

But Tally’s new friend, Shay, isn’t sure she wants to be Pretty. She’d rather risk life on the outside. When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the Pretty world – and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn Pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.

The Passage

7169581

Blurb from The Passage (Book #1)

Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she’s the most important person in the whole world.

She is.

Anthony Carter doesn’t think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.

He’s wrong.

FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.

It is.

A tidal wave of darkness ready to engulf the world. 

And Amy is the only person who can stop it.

The Broken Empire

12891111

Blurb from Prince of Thorns (Book #1)

From being a privileged royal child, raised by a loving mother, Jorg Ancrath has become the Prince of Thorns, a charming, immoral boy leading a grim band of outlaws in a series of raids and atrocities. The world is in chaos: violence is rife, nightmares everywhere. Jorg has the ability to master the living and the dead, but there is still one thing that puts a chill in him. Returning to his father’s castle Jorg must confront horrors from his childhood and carve himself a future with all hands turned against him.

Mark Lawrence’s debut novel tells a tale of blood and treachery, magic and brotherhood and paints a compelling and brutal, and sometimes beautiful, picture of an exceptional boy on his journey toward manhood and the throne.

The Grim Company

18899295

Blurb from The Grim Company (Book #1)

First in an epic, gritty trilogy from the hottest new voice in British fantasy. 

It is a time of darkness. The last magic of the dead gods is on the wane. Demons and half-formed monsters plague the land as the final barriers between the realms begin to fail. The jealous Magelords of three great cities sit in their towers of stone and brood over the scant power that remains… 

It is not a time of heroes. Their songs are long forgotten, their deeds go unwritten. 

But, even now, some few still nurse a spark of hope, an unlikely fellowship, united against the tyranny of their immortal overlords.

 



We’ve come to the end.

I hope you enjoyed this rather long post. 😅

Are there any series you wanna start in 2017? And what has been the best series you’ve read in 2016?

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❤ 

2 thoughts on “Book Series I’ve Completed & The Ones I Want to Start in 2017

    1. Thanks!! I wanted to make a point of finishing series this year. 2015 was abysmal. 😂 I hope you enjoy them both. The Lunar Chronicles was such a great series. Here’s hoping we both finish all the series in 2017. 💪😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

