Review

Book Review: The Dream Thieves

* This review does have spoilers


17347389

Rating: ★★★★ 3/4 

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy 

Pages: 437 

Blurb: 

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…


I knew two things before I went into this book, a) this is/was people’s favourite in the series and b) it was a character exploration of Ronan. While this isn’t my favourite in the series, The Dream Thieves does focuses a great deal on Ronan and his ability of taking things from dreams. Having said that, the other characters do get a look in and we do see some growth on their part.

I kinda already knew I was going to like this book before I went into it. I very much prefer character heavy books. And so finding out more about the enigma that was Ronan, I was all for.

The Dream Thieves takes place a few months after the end of The Raven Boys and our group of friends are still looking for their Welsh King, Glendower. But that particular storyline does take a back seat, while we uncover more about Ronan’s ability. Also in this book, Ronan really come into his own. He finally deals with some of his demons (literally!) and grows a huge amount as a person.

It was through his interactions with Karvinsky that Ronan learnt a great deal about himself, especially with how to takes things out of his dream whenever he wants. It was surprising to discover that this wasn’t something he already knew and that his father hadn’t previously demonstrated it to him. Fortunately, learning about the intricacy of the whole process was a delight to read about. I found it extremely fascinating.

I very much enjoyed the introduction of Karvinsky into the story. Despite him being an absolutely dick, I liked the energy he brought. He was unpredictable and slightly neurotic. He brought an edge and we got to see just how much of an edge towards the end of the book.

Ronan did undoubtedly grow a whole lot in this book and I loved seeing just how far he came. Even if I still didn’t feel like I throughly knew him, we did get to see a chink in his armour and I liked the fact that I knew there were still further things to be discovered. And that is why I didn’t fall as hard for him as I’ve heard others do. There was still so much I did not know. He was still an enigma to me.

Like I said before, the Glendower storyline did progress slightly in The Dream Thieves and the biggest plot point was that Cabeswater had disappeared (Gansey’s reaction to this was just the embodiment of his whole character; I found it so funny). So discovering that it was actually ‘the taking things from dreams’ that was responsible, was very interesting. It showed that were ramifications to what Ronan and Karvinsky do, because otherwise it would have been a limitless power. It demonstrated that actions do equal consequences, which I really liked.

Adam was so frustrating in this book but what was even more annoying was the fact that I totally could see where he was coming from. Adam’s pride is really big part of who he is. And because of that, there were so many moments were I just wanted to shake him so he could see just how much his friends loved him. Like the whole scene when Adam exploded on Gansey at the party they went to; it broke my heart. Oh, Adam.

There is only one gripe I had with The Dream Theives and that was the ridiculously fast progression of Maura and Gray Man’s relationship. It happened way too fast. It was cute though, and I loved the scene where she stole his phone. But him falling in love in a couple of months was hardly realistic (maybe that’s normal, I don’t know). I did roll my eyes at that bit.

Speaking of relationships, Blue broke up with Adam in this book. I particularly loved this scene because Blue was so upfront and honest about her feelings, making it kinda hard to read. Blue really laid it all out to bare, but I loved that it happened that way. It left us and Adam with no questions unanswered and no possibility of future drama (miscommunication be gone 🙌).

My absolute favourite relationship though, was between Blue and the women of 300 Fox Way. I loved seeing how caring, supportive, understanding and trusting they all were, particularly Maura.

Because I had gotten use to the writing style, it made getting into this book a breeze. I was able to dive right in and get lost in this story. What I really appreciated in this book, was how Maggie Stiefvater described stuff. It wasn’t conventional. She would use words that you wouldn’t think to use and it allowed me to see things in a different way. Definitely an interesting experience.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Dream Thieves way more than The Raven Boys. And after that cliffhanger ending, you know I immediately picked up the next book.

If you’ve read The Dream Thieves, did you enjoy it less or more than The Raven Boys? I’d love to know.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❤

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Dream Thieves

  1. I liked the Dream Thieves more than the Raven Boys and I really love Ronan’s development in this one, I think he really gets more likable as the series progresses. I agree that Maura’s relationship with the Gray Man felt like it came out of nowhere. The Gray Man’s brother was also a point of found weird. Glad to see you enjoyed it, hopefully you’ll like the rest of the series just as much if not even more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Ronan is more likeable with every book. He quietly grows on you and by the end of it, you realise just how much you like him. While Gray Man’s brother storyline was a weird sub-plot, I found their whole relationship rather fascinating. I just want to know why he was doing what he was doing.
      I have already read the rest of the series, and the books definitely do get better with each book. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

