Review

Book Review: An Ember in the Ashes


an-ember-in-the-ashes-cover

Rating: ★★★★ 1/2

Genre: YA Fantasy 

Pages: 464

Blurb: 


I was not expecting to enjoy An Ember in the Ashes as much as I did. I was so surprised by how addictive and brutal it all was.

Basically An Ember in the Ashes is a light fantasy novel set in a world that closely resembles a Roman empire; where we are following two perspectives. The first being is Laia, a Scholar girl and the other being Elias, a solider for the empire. I don’t wanna say much about the plot other than there is espionage, savage fight scenes and an interesting romantic situation.

What made this one of the most addictive reads I’ve read in a while, was the super high stakes at play. Like I’m not kidding. Everybody had something huge to lose, which just added to the awesomeness of the story. What’s more, Sabaa Tahir was not afraid to take you there. Whenever I thought it couldn’t possibly go there, it did. I was so impressed by how bloodthirsty the whole thing was.

While Laia isn’t the most typically “strong” character, she is one hell of a fighter. I really liked how headstrong she was. Even in her moments of doubt, she was able to focus on the bigger picture and get her shit done. She was very self-aware, which stop her from being an annoying and frustrating character.

Out of the two I have to say, Elias was the more interesting. His whole inner conflict of being a Mask, was fascinating to read about. Sabaa Tahir did a great job in making me feel Elias’s turmoil without it also feeling whiny. Furthermore, the little snippets we got of his backstory, was rather intriguing. I’m excited for that to be hopefully explored more in later books.

And lastly I want to mention the writing style. It might not have been the best thing written literary-wise but it was certainly a joy to read. I loved how well Sabaa Tahir was able to capture the settings and the characters’ voices, which is always a plus in my book. Everything flowed and read seamlessly. Combine that with the addictive plot, and I managed to read it in a couple of days.

All in all, this was one entertaining read and I’m so excited to continue on with the series and to see where it all goes.

I’d highly recommend it.

So if you have read the book, tell me what you thought about it? Did you like it too?

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❤

2 thoughts on “Book Review: An Ember in the Ashes

Leave a Reply

