Review

Book Review: The Raven Boys


Rating: ★★★★ 1/4

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy

Pages: 454

Blurb:

Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love. 


Whenever I think a book is overhyped (which is how I felt about The Raven Boys), it always makes me hesitant to pick that book up because I hate feeling disappointed. Even if I do put the hype at bay, it’s still there lurking in the back of my mind.

So with all this in my head, I went into The Raven Boys with a slight distance to it. But right from the get go, I could see why this book was well-loved and I, I am happy to say fell into that bracket.

While the book does start off with a somewhat slow beginning, I found that I quite enjoyed this rather slow build up. I liked the fact the characters and the settings were established first, before we got into the meat of the story. Though this approach does not always work, I really liked it here because I could fully invest myself into this weird storyline, without also trying to piece together all this other detail.

Then once that was all done, things really got going.

An enchanting and captivating story was told that constantly kept me on my toes. Everything was clouded in mystery, fuelling me to continue on reading so I could figure it all out. The last section of the book was especially intense. I had no clue how things were going to turn out. And once I had read that last line, I knew I needed the second book right away.

If I had had the time, I’m pretty sure I would have read this book in a day or two. The short chapters along with Stiefvater’s effortless writing made this a breeze to read. I would compare it in a sense to Renée Ahdieh’s writing; where you forget you’re actually reading. The writing felt atmospheric and eerie and kinda had a detached feeling to it. But not in a bad way, more to enhance the mysteriousness of the story.  I also really enjoyed the dialogue between the characters, particularly between The Raven Boys and Blue. It all felt realistic and natural, which I greatly appreciated.

My favourite thing about this whole novel was the bloomin’ characters. I wanted to know everything I could about each them. The characterisation was done so skilfully. I was able to easily grasp who these characters were and as I read further on into the book, the subtle details that were added made these characters three-dimensional and well-rounded. My favourites in this book were are Blue and Noah. I loved Noah’s bashful nature and Blue’s confidence. And both of them together in a scene, made my heart happy.

I can’t begin to explain how glad I am that I read The Raven Boys and it thankfully lived up to the hype. I can totally see why so many people love it. I do have to say that, buddy-reading it with my good friend Olga (Reading Between Oceans) made the whole experience that much better. Discussing the book with her and talking about our feelings made me love the book that bit more.


I’d highly, highly recommend it.

So if you have read the book, tell me what you thought about it? Did you like it too?

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven Boys

    1. The characters were by far the best thing about these books and were what made it for me. Its good to know that you enjoyed it just as much too. ☺️

      All I’ll say now, is that I loved each instalment more than the last. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

