Review

Book Review: It Ends with Us


image001

Rating:  ★★★★★

Genre: New Adult Romance

Pages: 384 

Blurb: 

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price. 

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter. 


Colleen Hoover is considered by many, the queen of New Adult. And while I do love a NA book every now and again to cleanse the pallet, it wasn’t until very recently that I decided to give one of her books a go.

It Ends with Us is the second book I’ve read by Colleen Hoover (the first being Maybe Someday) and I have to say it was AMAZING. I had no clue what this book was about when I first went into it. And looking back on it now, I think that was the best decision for me.

This book revolves around a 22 year old woman named Lily; and at the beginning of the story, she is reflecting over all the events that happened at her father’s funeral. And while she’s ruminating over said events, she meets a man who she has a very interesting conversation with. And it is from then on that the story takes off.

Like I mentioned before, this is a book were you should go into it blind (Colleen Hoover is known for her huge twists). However having said that, I have to mention that there are triggers for domestic violence, rape and abuse. So if those are triggers for you in any way, you should know that they do play a part in this novel.

The characterisation in this book was remarkable. Each character was so well-rounded and real, and because of that it brought a whole-new level of authenticity to the story. And maybe that was down to the way they were written, but I was able to empathise greatly with them; in particular to Lily, who I felt so much for. 💔

My favourite thing about It Ends with Us, and its something I haven’t really seen in the NA I’ve read before, was the fact that the message of the story took precedent. Usually, and I’m not saying this is a bad thing, but the plot in NA books is sometimes rather weak. But that wasn’t the case here. There was an actual meaty plot line that had real ramifications; forcing me to stay up late to finish it, because there was no way I was going to sleep without knowing how it all ends. 

All in all, I really enjoyed It Ends with Us. Even though it may have been a bit cheesy in parts (which NA book isn’t?), the overall message and themes were something I’m happy I read. I’m so grateful this story is out there in the world.

I’d highly, highly, highly recommend it.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

Leave a Reply

