Review

Book Review: Assassin’s Quest


9780007562275

Rating:  ★★★ 3/4

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 848 

Blurb:

The gripping finale to Robin Hobb’s classic Farseer Trilogy.

With the king no longer living and the heir, Verity, missing and declared dead, Prince Regal has treacherously seized the throne.

Regal’s torture has left Fitz more dead than alive, and more closely than ever bonded with his wolf. All who once loved him believe him dead: even Molly, now pregnant with his child. But he cannot go to her without placing her in terrible danger.

With nothing to lose, Fitz sets out for Tradeford, where Regal has withdrawn, having heartlessly abandoned the north of the kingdom to the Red-Ship Raiders. His quest: to assassinate the man who has destroyed his world.


Non-spoiler thoughts

The last book in the Farseer Trilogy was one I had trouble rating. Because while I did ultimately enjoy the book, there were some excruciating chapters towards the middle that I found a bore to read. My main issue with it was the repetition. I was the reading the same passages over and over again without any payoff, which got old real quick. I honestly believe that if those sections had been taken out, it would have been a much better book. Having said all that, Assassin’s Quest was worth it in the end and I don’t think I could of asked for a better conclusion.

I was so connected to Fitz in this book. We go through so much with him and you certainly feel like he’s been put through the mill a bit. His epic journey really made me appreciate and understand this young man, who we’ve grown up with a whole lot. I ended up leaving the book feeling so enamoured by him. I can’t wait to read more of his story in The Tawny Man’s Trilogy and to see where Hobb takes him next.

If it weren’t for the unbelievable slow middle, this could of easily been a five star book for me. The plot in the beginning and end, were incredibly fast-paced and action-packed. And those, incidentally, were the parts of the book where I could not put it down. Especially the ending, which was spectacular. The way everything wrapped up but left enough loose ties to keep you intrigued, was amazing. Even now, a few months later, I’m still in awe of that bittersweet ending.

And as I’ve said before in my other reviews, Robin Hobb’s writing continued to be phenomenal. It was such a joy to read and the only thing that kept me going in those aforementioned slow sections. One of the best thing Hobb is able to do with her writing, is how she is able to create such realistic, lovable, annoying, frustrating characters that you become way too attached to. And that my friends, is why I will always push Robin Hobb’s work onto anyone. So they get to experience her amazing characters too.

Spoilery thoughts

As the second book in the trilogy mainly revolved around court life, this was straight up a coming-of-age novel. Fitz tries so hard to figure himself out and what he eventually wants from life. And that for me was one of my favourite things about this book. The first person narrative really allowed us to see how Fitz was able to come out on the other side of this incredibly hard journey. I remember feeling stunned and satisfied when I read that last page. I was so proud that he had finally done it, but also kinda sad by the fact he’s been pretty lonely for a good chunk of his life. I was glad to see Fitz still had Nighteyes, because otherwise it would have been a rather depressing ending.

The one thing I can’t get over is the fact that Verity, my beloved, ever-dutiful Verity, is a dragon. And this is why the feeling of bittersweet is the only emotion I can equate to this last book. There was so much sacrifice and loss, which I was not expecting at all, but it did make for one hell of an ending.

All in all, I really enjoyed the book and the series as a whole. Its definitely one I’d urge everyone to read. I’m so, so happy I finally read it and I honestly can’t wait to re-read them, even if Assassin’s Quest was a bit of a beast and a chore.

I’d highly recommend it.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

 

Leave a Reply

