Top5Wednesday

T5W: Books That Took You The Longest To Finish

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday prompt is the five books that took a hell of a long time to read.

If you didn’t already know, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey over at GingerReadsLainey and is now run by Sam over at Thoughts of Tomes. And if you haven’t checked out either of their channels already, then I highly suggest you do.

So without further ado, here are all the books.

5. Insurgent

51h4jpr8zil-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I loved Divergent. So when I got around to reading Insurgent, you could of said I was a tiny bit excited. However, it took me forever to finish and I remember having a really hard time picking it back up whenever I put it down. My main issue with it, was the fact that the plot was not as thrilling and the whole book kinda felt like a drag. It took all my favourite things about the first book and just shat on it. This book definitely wasn’t for me and I’m amazed I actually finished it and the trilogy as a whole.

4. The Well of Ascension

51zonhkvzjl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

If you know me, then you know I absolutely loooovvvee the original Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. But out of the three, The Well of Ascension was the one that took me the longest to read. And looking back on it now, that makes sense. It wasn’t as engrossing and it certainly wasn’t as action-packed as the first and last book. There was a lot of political intrigue and scheming that happened, which did slow down the pacing. But having said all that, I did enjoy it overall and would highly recommend this trilogy to everyone and anyone.

3. The Name of the Wind

name-of-the-wind

I purposely took forever to read this book because I was enjoying the writing style and the story way too much. I didn’t want it to end and I wanted to stay in this world for as long as possible. I fell in love so fast and it’s another one I would very much recommend.

2. The Heart of Darkness

348_1

This was one of the many books I had to read for English, so you can imagine what a chore it was. But to add to that, it was also one of the most boring, sleep-inducing books I have ever had the pleasure to read. It was only 192 pages long but it honestly felt more like a 700 page novel. Safe to say, I did not enjoy the reading experience or the book itself, and its no wonder it took me 2 months to read.

1. A Clash of Kings

71bufg21pdl

This took me an age to read. I’m pretty sure I was reading it for approximately 5 months. It also didn’t help I was reading it during the worst slump of my life. I really had to push myself through it since A Clash of Kings is the definition of a slow book. And because of that, I am kinda intrigued to re-read it to see if I’ll like it better the second time around.

There you have it. The five books that took an eon to read.

I hope you enjoyed it.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❀

2 thoughts on “T5W: Books That Took You The Longest To Finish

Leave a Reply

