Monthly Recommendations

Monthly Recommendations: One Year Celebration

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18273625/?claim=397x8te7bp4″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Monthly Recommendations is a group created by Kayla from Kayla Rayne 
& Trina from Between Chapters, as a way of recommending books to one another. Every month there is a new prompt and for this month, its a cumulation of all the topics in the past year.

So without further ado, here are all my recommendations.

1. An underrated book 

41Xo3rlQT+L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

Tuesdays with Morrie

I read this a few years ago and really enjoyed it. This memoir, with its numerous quotable lines, had me thinking about life with a new perspective. I still think about it to this day, and it makes me sad that more people haven’t read it.

2. A book set in school

Vicious

Vicious

I haven’t read many school-set books lately but I did really enjoy reading about Eli and Victor in college.

3. A creepy book

28b98b8c0e107c5970164a47f8ce1af1

The Diviners

When I went into The Diviners, I did not think it was going to be as creepy as it was. It takes a lot for me to be scared, and so I have to applaud the narrator of the audiobook for doing such an amazing job of bringing that creep factor to life.

4. A trilogy

The Winner’s Trilogy

All I can say is, GO READ IT. I fell head over heels for this story and its characters. Another book I ended up loving more than I expected to.

5. A book you think others should read ASAP/before the end of the year

Descender, Ship of Magic, Between Shades of Gray, A Court of Mist and Fury

Loved all of these and I urge you read them all. You won’t be disappointed.

6. A fantasy book

The Lies of Locke Lamora, A Darker Shade of Magic

The first books in of some of my favourite fantasy series. Highly suggest checking them out.

7. A book with little to no romance

nimona_final

Nimona

There was no romance at all in Nimona, and so it was really nice to just focus on this funny, villainous plot.

8. A standalone

MitchAlbom_TheFivePeopleYouMeetInHeaven

Five People you Meet in Heaven

Just like Tuesday with Morrie, this was another thinker. It follows an old man as he meets five people who affected his seemingly boring life. I really liked it.

9. Your favorite survival story

The Knife of Never Letting Go, The 5th Wave

10. Your favorite book friendship

Rhysand’s Inner Circle, Harry + Ron +Hermione, Blue and The Raven Boys, The Lunar Chronicles Gang, Locke and Co.

Love each of these groups so much and I wanna be a part of them.

11. A book set outside of the US, or that features travel/vacation

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Salt to the Sea

Set in El Paso, Texas and East Prussia respectively. Both are places I’ve never been to before but would love to visit one day.

12. A book with your favorite empowering female character

Kestrel (The Winner’s Curse), Hermione (Harry Potter), Nimona (Nimona), Althea (Ship of Magic)

All know exactly what they want from life and are not afraid to get it. Their confidence and pluckiness is what I admire the most.

So there you have it, my first Monthly Recommendation post. Hopefully I’ll do these on regular basis because I just looovve recommending books.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

One thought on “Monthly Recommendations: One Year Celebration

Leave a Reply

