Tags

Intimidating TBR Pile Tag

Hey guys,

I’ve seen this around a lot lately and I really wanted to do it, so here I am doing it.

Hope you enjoy.

This tag was originally created by Lindsey Rey on Youtube.

1) What book have you been unable to finish?

ROOM-II

Room

I read around 50 pages or so a while back and I could not get past the fact that it was written from a child’s perspective. I do still want to read it but I just need to be mentally prepared for such writing.

What book have you yet to read because…

2) …you just haven’t had the time?

51HpHebsfxL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Outlander

I know its going to be a time-consuming book and I just can’t right now.

3) …it’s a sequel?

51lbnKrPiWL._SX306_BO1,204,203,200_

The Ask and the Answer

I read The Knife of Never Letting Go last year and I wasn’t blown away unfortunately. I really enjoyed the last third of it and if it continues on in that direction, I do think I’m gonna enjoy the rest of the series. I am kinda nervous to read it too, since it is such a well-loved trilogy.

4) …it’s brand new?

21414439

Truthwitch

I got this recently for my birthday and have put off reading it because of its huge hype as well as the apparent info-dumping that happens at the start of the book. But I’ve heard that once you’re over that hump, it gets really good. So here’s hoping.

5) …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

Sharp Objects/Dark Places

I really, really disliked Gone Girl and to this day, I still don’t get the hype for it. I HATED the characters, the writing wasn’t particularly special and the ending, for me, was a complete cop-out. There’s been some mixed reviews about her other books, so maybe I’ll read those in the future, who knows.

6) …you’re just not in the mood for it?

17235026

The Girl with all the Gifts

This is a thriller and I have to be in a certain mood to enjoy them. I’ve had no inclinations to read any thrillers at the moment and so I don’t know when I’ll get to this, even though the blurb does sound amazing.

7) …it’s humongous?

515sMPb0RyL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

A Little Life 

My edition is 720 pages long and it has the smallest font known to man (no joke). It’s also literary fiction, making it one intimidating book.

8) …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

23734628

Carry On

I wouldn’t say this has got poor reviews, more like it’s a love-it-or-hate-it book. I am a bit hesitant to read it but I have adored the few books I’ve read from Rainbow Rowell. This does have all the elements I love in a book, so we’ll have to see whether I like it or not.

9) What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

51Mzk94peUL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

Great Expectations

Classics aren’t my thing and I find them quite hard to get into. And the main reason I want to read the Great Expectation is because the TV show Dickensian did a really great job of bring Dickens’s characters to life. I loved each character in the show and now I want to experience them in book form. Hopefully I’ll read it soon so I can add at least one classic to my read list this year.

10) Who do you tag?

Anyone who wants to do it. Tag me so I can see all your answers.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

5 thoughts on “Intimidating TBR Pile Tag

    1. That’s so good to hear. I may pick it up sooner rather than later. Thanks for that.
      I’m glad you enjoy Carry On and I’m gonna make it my mission to read it in the next month or so. Hopefully I’ll like it too.😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is one of my favourite tags, I can relate so much to this. I’ve been wanting to do it on my blog, maybe I’ll do it at some point. 🙂

    I like classics, but I haven’t read much in the past three years. I always feel like I need a lot of free time to dedicate to reading them, but that’s just a silly excuse. Great Expectations is in my TBR as well, I made the “mistake” of starting my way through Dicken’s works with A Christmas Carol and that didn’t impressed me. I should have started with one of his novels.

    I recently bought Room, and I had no idea it was narrated by the child. Hopefully now with this information I’ll go in prepared hahah. I really want to see the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same. I’d love for you to do it. It’ll be interesting to see your answers. 😄

      I don’t think I’ve read a single classic in a while either, so you’re not alone there.😆 And I totally get what you mean with classic being time-consuming. And because they do take so much time, I’d rather spend it on a large fantasy book I know I’ll like.

      I really want to see the movie too, just so I can watch Brie Larson apparently amazing performance. But the bookworm in me is not letting me. 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

