Review

Book Review: The Lies of Locke Lamora


Locke-Lamora-UK

Rating: ★★★★★

Pages: 544

Blurb:

The Thorn of Camorr is said to be an unbeatable swordsman, a master thief, a friend to the poor, a ghost that walks through walls.

Slightly built and barely competent with a sword, Locke Lamora is, much to his annoyance, the fabled Thorn. And while Locke does indeed steal from the rich (who else would be worth stealing from?), the poor never see a penny. All of Locke’s gains are strictly for himself and his tight-knit band of thieves. The Gentleman Bastards.

The capricious, colourful underworld of the ancient city of Camorr is the only home they have ever known. But now a clandestine war is threatening to tear it apart. Caught up in a murderous game, Locke and his friends are suddenly struggling just to stay alive…


The Lies of Locke Lamora was a book that I had wanted to read ever since I discovered it a few years ago. And it wasn’t until recently that I decided to pick it up in order to be part of a read-a-long.

All in all, I really enjoyed The Lies of Locke Lamora. I found it to be action-packed, humorous and touching. It kept me engaged and entertained the whole way through. It was basically one big ride from start to finish.

The main plot of this book revolves around a heist that the Gentleman Bastards are conducting and it is from then on that things develop into so much more. As I’ve mentioned before, heist storylines are my favourite to read about. The plotting, the planning and the scheming are things I enjoy reading and this was no different. The heists were intricate and captivating. There were many moments were I had no clue if Locke and co. would make it out of their current predicament. The second half of the book was unputdownable. I was completely gripped. I had to know if all those loose ends would wrap up.

There are two timelines at play in this book. One timeline focuses on the characters as children and how they came into the art of thieving while the other timeline is based in the present and we follow our cast of characters as adults. This style of storytelling provided an interesting way of exploring the past without it feeling dumpy; allowing me a better understanding on the world and the characters.

As the plot was so enthralling, the book was made even better by the incredible characters Scott Lynch brought to life. They were all likeable, fun characters that you couldn’t help but root for, even if their actions were questionable. I loved them all equally but I have to say that its Locke who holds a special place in my heart. One of my favourite things about this group was their loyalty and camaraderie; two things I’m a sucker for when it comes to friendships. I honestly love this group way too much.

And whilst Locke is very good at what he does, I appreciated seeing the instants when he was humbled. It made him much more relatable and real. Locke could’ve easily been an arrogant prick were things lined up for him easily, but we are shown that he is beatable and things may not always go smooth sailing for him.

The last thing I want to touch upon regarding Locke, and this could be extended to the rest of the crew to a degree, was his remarkable character growth. Locke changes so much from when we see him at the beginning of the book to where he is at the end. He is a completely different man and it made picking up the second book all the more exciting.

Now I want to briefly mention, Scott Lynch’s writing.

This was undeniably a well-written book. It was very easy to read, considering its adult fantasy. Scott was able to capture the essences of things really well, particularly the settings and the food. Both were things I could visualise vividly in my head and it made for a much more enriching reading experience.

Overall, this was an outstanding book that I throughly enjoyed. It’s up there with some of my favourites. I’m so happy to have finally read it and that I thankfully enjoyed it so much.

I’d highly, highly recommend it.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

Leave a Reply

