Review

Book Review: Royal Assassin

Hey guys,

It’s review time again and in today’s post I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the Royal Assassin. It’ll be splitting it into a spoiler and non-spoiler sections. So I hope you enjoy.


Rating: 5 stars

Pages: 648

Summary: 

Fitz has survived his first hazardous mission as king’s assassin, but is left little more than a cripple. Battered and bitter, he vows to abandon his oath to King Shrewd, remaining in the distant mountains. But love and events of terrible urgency draw him back to the court at Buckkeep, and into the deadly intrigues of the royal family.

Renewing their vicious attacks on the coast, the Red-Ship Raiders leave burned-out villages and demented victims in their wake. The kingdom is also under assault from within, as treachery threatens the throne of the ailing king. In this time of great danger, the fate of the kingdom may rest in Fitz’s hands—and his role in its salvation may require the ultimate sacrifice.


Non-spoiler section

As sequels goes, this was pretty good.

It expanded and developed on so many things, like the magic system, the world and the characters.

The writing was on point, as usual. I found it read quicker because there weren’t these huge passages of exposition. I never felt bored, like at all. And that’s down to the fact I love political intrigue which played a huge part in this novel.

That’s all I can really say without giving too much away.

If you haven’t read it then please do.

Spoiler section

Royal Assassin starts up right where Assassin’s Apprentice ends. We’re back with Fitz, who is still in The Mountains, recovering from Regal’s botched assassination attempt. Those first few chapters gives us an idea of how badly injured he is and what affect the poison has done to him. And to be quite honest, for a moment there I couldn’t see him recovering. But he does, so that’s all good. 😉

While he’s wallowing in self-pity Fitz realises that he just can’t stay in the mountains and be absent from court life. So much is happening down there which he needs to be a part of. He thankfully picks up himself up and returns back to Buckkeep. And that’s when the story really kicks off.

King Shrewd’s assassination played a huge part in this book. Regal, who is so cunning and conniving, used others to aid in the slow killing of his father. And what was so weird about this, was the fact no-one and I mean no-one, clocked on to this. Everyone could see it but they did nothing about it. It did take me out of the story somewhat, as I couldn’t quite believe that nobody hadn’t noticed yet.

One of my favourite things about this book, was the fact that Hobb took Fitz and Verity’s relationship to the next level. They have such a great familial bond. It also finally convinced me of Verity’s love for his nephew.

So in the first book Verity and Kettricken got married, and most of her plot in this book revolved around her getting use to her new home as well as building a relationship with her new husband. But with the threat of the Raiders on the coast and Verity self-proclaimed “mission” to stop them, he literally has no time for his new, young wife. This then lead to this slow-burning and realistic relationship which I adored. It was done so well and we they did get together in the end, I was so happy for them.

Speaking of romance, Fitz had this really cute relationship with Molly. At first I was a bit meh about it but once she moved into the castle, I came to like it. I so attached and again another couple I wanted to be happy. But alas that didn’t happen.

The Wit and the Skill are probably one of the best magic systems I have read about so far. It’s so cool and fascinating. We got loads more information about it which I greatly appreciated.

One of the most frustrating things about this book was the fact we didn’t get anymore new information on Raiders and how they came to be. They caused so much havoc, I would have liked a bit more detail.

Robin Hobb really knows how to write characters that you despise so much. I thought I hated Regal in Assassin’s Apprentice, but oh was I wrong. Even though he grated on me so much, I still loved reading about him. On a more positive note, I loved everyone else, particularly the ever loyal Burrich.

In terms of writing, this was again written beautifully. It flowed so well and I enjoyed the writing style immensely. A thing I noticed particularly in this book, was how Hobb writes her more emotional and hard hitting scenes. She doesn’t flower the situation. She uses simple language to convey the brutality of the situation. She shows the bare bones, making the moment all the more emotional.

So if you haven’t guessed by now, I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Royal Assasin. Such an amazing second book and its my favourite of the entire trilogy (writing this after having completed Assassin’s Quest). Can’t recommend it enough.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

