Review

Book Review: The Heart of Betrayal

Hey guys,

For today’s post I’ll be reviewing The Heart of Betrayal.

It’ll have tons of spoilers. So you’ve been warned.


512CO-MfFYL._SX339_BO1,204,203,200_

Rating: 4 stars

Pages: 470

Summary: 

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.


Let me first start off by saying that this was an amazing sequel and I can’t believe they’re part of the same trilogy. The Kiss of Deception wound up being majorly over-hyped for me. I liked it enough to continue on with the series (obviously!), but it unfortunately didn’t meet my expectations.

The setting, The Kingdom of Venda, was one of the main reasons why I enjoyed The Heart of Betrayal considerably more. Being taken to new lands is always fun and I love it when authors do that.

It was the way in which Venda was described that truly gives you an appreciation on how bleak and desperate the place is. It seemed like Venda was slowly dying and it made me feel really bad for the people living there. 

I loved the fact Lia was pushed way out of her comfort zone. She got to see how the other half lived and it forced her to deal with the grim reality of their situation.

My favourite place in the whole of Venda was The Sanctum. It was basically a city built upon another city (cool, right?). It’s was rich with so much history, reminding you how epic Venda use to be. And then we found out what was going on do there, I couldn’t quite believe it. 😮

With new settings, come new characters and the Kozimar was one who really stood out to me. When I first met him I thought he was going to be our typical villain character, but all was not as it seemed. He’d do these acts of kindness that made me question how evil he really was. Like the way he’d go out and help those less fortunate, giving them some hope. I don’t know what I feel about him just yet and my opinion of him may well change.

Kaden was definitely given a front row seat in this book. We got to learn a lot more about him, which was fine by me since I like him way more than Rafe. I was so suprised when we found out that that Kaden’s father was a noble. I did not expect it or see it coming but it brought a side plot I’m very interesting in finding more about.

Rafe, on the hand, I still can’t figure out. I do like him and I do believe he cares for Lia but I just don’t trust him. While reading, I got this sense of anger from him, like he could snap at any moment. He kinda puts me on edge, so the verdict is still out on him too.

In the Kiss of Deception, Lia got on my nerves. She was so dumb and it wasn’t in the cute way, more in the making-stupid-decisions-kinda way. So to see how much she’d changed was lovely. She was strong and sassy. She stood up for herself and didn’t take any crap. She was resourceful and she actually thought about the effects of her decisions, a trait she lacked in the first book.

The expanding of the world and the improvement in pacing were the other factors into why I gave the HOB a higher rating . Firstly, there weren’t any slow bits and the book was filled with so much action and mystery. Secondly, the way Mary E. Pearson developed the history and the world was miles better. I really felt like I got to know the world, giving me a more rounded view of it.

So that is my review of The Heart of Betrayal and as you can tell, I loved it. A great installment to the trilogy. I’m so excited to find out happens next and to see how this trilogy all wraps up.

Have you read this book? And did you like it as much as I did? Leave me comment with your thoughts.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

