Review

Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic

Hey guys,

I’ve got another review for you and this time I’ll be reviewing A Darker Shade of Magic.


61YJzE2d8QL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

Rating: 4.5 stars

Pages: 386

Blurb:

Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit. 

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London – but no one speaks of that now.


So when I went into this I had no idea what to expect, but I came out of it with a huge grin.

First off, the writing. You could definitely say this was a well-written novel. Everything about it just flowed. I adored reading this unique style. It was whimsy but not too whimsy, elegant yet harsh. Furthermore, it was written in a way where I could picture it as a movie. This allows me to become fully immersed in the story and I have much greater reading experience because of it. 

Move on now to the plot which was my favourite aspect of the book. A well-thought out plot is something I hugely appreciate. There is nothing worse than plot holes and underdeveloped stories. Everything about this one felt like it was meant to be there and it had a purpose to it. There were no unnecessary boring, filler bits.

The pacing was also near perfect too. It kept me interested throughout and I wanted to know what happened next. Additionally this was a majorly cool world. I loved the four Londons idea and the magic system that was at play. It’s one of the reasons I’m eagerly anticipating A Gathering of Shadows, so we hopefully get to know more about the magic system and the history of each of the Londons, especially Black London.

Lastly I want to talk about the characters. They were all amazing and I loved them all. Kell was such a great protagonist but I feel like we’ve just scratched the surface with him. Rhy, on the other hand, was someone who we didn’t see enough of which I hope is rectified in the next book. He was arrogant, caring, witty and extremely loyal. All traits I like seeing. And finally, Lila who slowly grew on me. She was such a strong and sassy character but what I liked about her the most was the fact she wasn’t up in my face with all her awesomenesses. This was who she was and she didn’t need to remind me all the time. (Hope that makes sense!)

To conclude, I highly recommend A Darker Shade of Magic. I love everything about it and will definitely be reading more from V.E. Schwab.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic

  1. I’m currently REreading this! I think the first time round I rated it 4.5/5 too, so I’l see if that stays the same this time round. I love Lila, she’s such an adventurous spirit ❤ I have A Gathering of Shadows preordered and I cannot wait!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

