Wrap up

Reading Wrap Up: January 2016

Hey guys,

My first wrap up of 2016 and I read a total of 8 books and 2 novellas. There were some good books this month and here are some of my thoughts.

Shatter Me3 stars

Shatterme1

This was okay. A super fast read. It took a while to get into the writing style, but once I did and I started to enjoy it.

Destroy Me 3.75 stars 

13623150

It was the last few chapters of this that convinced me to fully committed to this trilogy. I loved the fact this was written from Warner’s perspective and we got to see him in a different light. Tahareh Mafi really knows how to write characters that you fall in love with.

Unravel Me4 stars

13104080

So after the events of Destroy Me, I need to know what happened to my bae Warner. Overall, this was a solid book. There was a noticeable improvement in the writing and the plot structure. The ratio of romance to action was a lot more balanced in this one. We got to see more of one of my favourite side characters and I loved every time they were in a scene. FYI, this my favourite book in the trilogy.

Fracture Me 2 stars 

17331518

My disliked for Adam was affirmed as a result on this novella. He was so annoying and unbelievably frustrating. The novella didn’t particularly add anything new to the story but I don’t regret reading it.

Percy Jackson and the Lighting Thief4 stars

9780786838653

Middle grade isn’t a genre I really reach for anymore and so I was hesitant to pick this up. But, I was pleasantly surprised that I really liked it. Percy was a likeable character and Riordan’s writing was a joy to read. I’ll definitely be continuing on with the series to see what other adventures Percy goes on.

Royal Assassin5 stars

51NoiQqkVWL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THIS. It was a great continuation of Fitz’s story. We got more history and information on the magic system. Also political intrigue played a big part in this book, which I’ve come to realise is something I enjoy in books now. It ends on a slight cliff-hanger, leaving so many things up in the air. Can’t wait to see how the trilogy ends.

City of Fallen Angels4 stars

Cassandra_Clare_City_of_Fallen_Angels_book_cover

From what I’ve seen, the fourth book in The Mortal Instruments series is considered the weakest. And so when I went into to this, it was lurking in the back of mind. However, I ended up enjoying it a lot more the previous three books. Maybe it was because it focused on heavily Simon or the fact that it was written considerably better. Either way I liked it a lot and it’s got me pumped to finish the series.

Ignite Me 3 stars

13188676

After the improvement seen in Unravel Me, Ignite Me brought it back down for me. The word incomplete is how I would sum it up. All I can say is that if you want some quick reads and you are willing to overlook certain things (e.g. lack of plot), then give the Shatter Me trilogy a shot.

A Darker Shade of Magic4.5 stars

61YJzE2d8QL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

My first reaction when I finished ADSOM was WOW. The book was so well done, you could feel the amount of love that went into it. The writing, the pacing of the plot and the characterisation was all top-notched. I know I have only read one V.E. Schwab book but I think she going to be an auto-buy author.

A Court of Thorns and Roses 3.5 stars

9781408857861

You may not know this but the Throne of Glass series is a series I absolutely adore. So when I heard that Sarah J. Maas was coming out with a new book, I was so excited. But then it got so many mixed reviews that I put off reading it. I decided I’d finally it a go this month and….. it was alright. The second half was a lot better than the first half. Its definitely left me intrigued and excited to pick up the sequel. Hopefully it gets better in the second book like TOG did because otherwise I don’t think this series is going to be for me.

Well, there you have it, all the books I read in January.

If you have read any of these, then I’d love to know what you thought.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

Leave a Reply

