Top Books

Top 10 Books of 2015

Hey guys,

It’s that time of year were everyone lists their favourite books. And so this is mine.

10. The Deal

91FrGUab8TL._SL1500_

This was the best new adult book I read in 2015. The characters made this book for me but the plot was also strong too.

And while it did follow some new adult tropes, they were done quite well. I did a mini-review for it here.

9. All the Bright Places

18460392

A book that brought up loads of difficult issues such as depression and suicide. It revolves around two teenagers who meet on their high school’s bell tower, with the intention of committing suicide. They don’t end up going through it and the story goes on from there.

It opened my eyes to mental illness and made me think. There was one problem I did have with it but otherwise I really enjoyed it.

8. Posion Study

Poison-Study-new-UK

 This was an unexpected favourite. I had no prior knowledge going into this and it turned out to be really good. It’s about a girl called Yelena who is given the chance to become a taste taster for the commander, instead of getting executed. It had lots of magic and political intrigue, which is right up my alley. A very underrated book that more people need to read.

7. The Mime Order

17901125

The second book in this series was even better than the first. So much development happened with regards to the plot and the characters. The ingenuity of this series continually surprises me and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

6. Cress

13206828

I love this book so much and was so happy while reading it. Cress and Throne are just the best. I flew through this book and if you haven’t read this series yet, then you totally should.

5. The Name of the Wind

name-of-the-wind

When people talk about fantasy, The Name of the Wind is considered to be one of the best. It had been on my shelf for over a year and it was about time I picked it up and I’m so glad I did. It was Patrick Rothfuss’s writing and world building that amazed me the most. It’s such a rich and beautifully told story, making it the a very unique read.

4. The Final Empire

51nIafKiQ8L

Heist stories are one of my favourite to read about and this was no exception. It was a ride from start to finish. It was my first introduction to Sanderson’s work and I haven’t looked back.

3. Hero of Ages

51X1mmd2qkL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This is the book that many authors should use as a guide for how to end a series. It wrap up in a way that I did not anticipate at all. I’d go so far as to say that this book alone made this trilogy for me. Everyone should go read it.

2. Queen of Shadows

18006496

This was my most anticipated book of 2015. I waited a year for it and when it finally arrived, I was not disappointed. The best in the series as of yet. It amazes me how far we’ve come from the first book. Certain character’s development did surprise me but overall I’m liking the way this series is heading.

1. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

Theboyinthestripedpyjamas

The main reason why this is my favourite read of the year is how much this book has stuck with me.

This short book was packed with so much insight; it had me thinking about the holocaust through eyes I never really thought about before.

When I finished this book, I legit spent an hour or so just staring into space, going over the events that occurred.

I highly, highly, highly recommend it.

And that concludes all the books that stood out to me in 2015. I had an amazing reading year and I hope 2016 continues on in that vain.

Leaving me a comment, telling me your top 3 books of 2015.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian ❤

One thought on “Top 10 Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

