Series Breakdown

Series Breakdown: Grisha Trilogy

Hey guys,

I’ve got another review for you and this time I’ll be discussing my thoughts and feelings on the entire Grisha Trilogy.

I inhaled read this series in October, which if you know me than you know that I never marathon series. Oddly, I find that I don’t like to be in the same world for too long. I need a break from it so I can process fully what went down.

This series is written by Leigh Bardugo and I was so impressed by her books that I will buy anything she puts out.


Overall Rating: 4 stars

Genre: YA Fantasy 

Pages:

Shadow and Bone: 308

Siege and Storm: 386

Ruin and Rising: 350


The main reason I absolutely flew these books is because I fell in love with the characters. I instantly became attached to them. I don’t know how this happened but I think it’s due to how Leigh Bardugo characterised her characters.

Morally grey characters are my favourite to read about and the Darkling was the epitome of that. There were times I thought that maybe he would change but then he’d do something terrible and end any hope. But that’s why I loved him and it saddens me that he wasn’t explored more.

Equally there were moments were Alina would have evil thoughts, providing an element of unpredictability. You didn’t know if she’d finally take the plunge over to the dark side. (The Darkling didn’t help matters much either though).

Other characters I should notably mention are Mal and Nikolai. I found both to be such great characters to read about. Firstly, you had Mal who I liked in Shadow and Bone, got annoyed with in Siege and Storm and who redeemed himself somewhat in Ruin and Rising. His was the character I was most frustrated by.

Nikolai, on the other hand, I utterly adored. He was so cheeky and lovable. I couldn’t help but smile whenever he entered a scene to see what antics he’d be up to now.

I thought Alina was an excellent main character. She did drive me mad occasionally but I totally understood where she was coming from. The poor girl had the whole world on her shoulders and it’s understandable she got a bit stressed. I do believe she dealt with it well and I admire her courage.

Now onto to the plot, which for me was the weakest aspect of the novels. It was okay at times and slow in others. My main gripe with it is that I felt like it wasn’t fully fleshed out, particularly in the first and last books. Both seemed rushed and when I read the last page of each, I was like “What?! This is it?”. They were all slightly under developed and the series as a whole ended a tad bit conveniently for my liking.

Leigh Bardugo’s writing is why I will buy anything that this women puts out. Effortless, picturesque and imaginative are just a few words I would use to describe it. The best part was the dialogue between the characters, especially the scenes between Alina and the Darkling. They were filled with so much tension and angst and I loved every second of it.

Overall I really, really liked the series. I did have some problems with it but I’m glad I read it.

And now that I have completed it, I can move to the Six of Crows which I’m so looking forward to reading.

If you’ve read the Grisha Trilogy, tell me what you thought and do you agree with anything I’ve said?

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian 

2 thoughts on “Series Breakdown: Grisha Trilogy

Leave a Reply

