Top5Wednesday

Books I’m Thankful For 

This week Top 5 Wednesday is the 5 books that you’re most thankful for. I know this is super late, but uni got the way and I wasn’t able to post it on Wednesday like it wanted to. 😔

So in no particular order are the 5 books that I’m most thankful for and have changed my reading life for the better.

1. Tuesdays with Morrie

51bSVpeXk1L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The main reason I’m thankful for this book is because it really opened my eyes.

There is this one quote which resonated a lot with me and it’s something I try to implement in my life and it is:

 ‘I believe in being fully present,’ Morrie said. ‘That means you should be with the person you’re with. When I’m talking to you now, Mitch, I try to keep focused only on what is going on between us’

It taught me to enjoy the moments when you are with someone as well as trying to be invested in whatever they are doing or saying.

2. Noughts and Crosses

9781407047966-large

When I read this, aged 13, I was instantly captivated by the story. In this world people are labelled either ‘Noughts’ or ‘Crosses’, where Noughts are seen as the inferior people. This book flipped racial hatred on its head and it taught me that skin colour has no bearing on this prejudice and this type of hatred comes from the fact some people believe they are superior to others. For that, Noughts and Crosses will always have a special place in my heart.

3. Pride and Prejudice 

pride-prejudice-book-1

Before given this as an assigned reading for a coursework I had to do, classics were not something I really read. But this book changed that. It showed me that some older novels can be interesting and fun to read.

4. A Song of Ice and Fire series

a-song-of-ice-and-fire-books

George R. R. Martin’s series allowed me to tread my toes into the world of adult fantasy. It has now become one of my favourite genres and introduced me to so many good books that I wouldn’t have otherwise known about. Despite the series being such draining reads, I loved every second of it and I’m itching to re-read Game of Thrones.

5. Harry Potter

4724803625_8d16b2d578_b

I’m pretty sure this will be in almost everyone’s list.

The Harry Potter series made up a huge chunk of my childhood reading. It’s probably why I love reading and fantasy so much. I don’t how to describe it but Harry Potter really opened up my imagination and gave me some respite from the real world (I’m sure it did similar things for others too). I’m so grateful/thankful to have found them.

I really enjoyed writing this post and it was fun to remember the books that have changed and impacted my life.

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian 

3 thoughts on “Books I’m Thankful For 

Leave a Reply

