Review

Book Review: Cress

Hey guys,

It’s been a few days since finishing Cress that I’m writing this review. The feels are definitely still all there and now my copy of Winter has been delivered, I can’t wait to see how this all ends.

 


Rating: 4.5 stars

Pages: 550

Summary: 

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.


So Cress is the third book in the The Lunar Chronicles and arguably the best in the series so far. It was such a ride and so much was packed in those 550 pages.

To be honest, I went into Cress a bit apprehensive. Scarlett was a slight disappointment because it fell a bit flat. The main reason for that is because I didn’t get Scarlett and Wolf’s relationship; it happened all too quickly and conveniently. Don’t get me wrong though, I did enjoy it but it’s for sure the weakest of the 3.

So anyway, move onto the review.

Marissa Meyer is effortless in the way she connects words. What’s more she’s one of those gifted authors that are able to create such natural and easy-flowing dialogue. I forget sometimes how dialogue can be such an important aspect to a novel. What I appreciated the most was the fact that it felt real and not forced. I also want to touch on her ability to write movie-like descriptions, which I believe can be a difficult thing to achieve. I was able to picture her settings and her characters and get a full mental image of what she was describing. So basically the writing was on point!

There was never a dull moment in Cress and everything kept ticking along and that’s because the pacing of the plot was executed really well. Well, expect for the desert scenes.

Lastly I want to talk about the characters which for me were the best part of the book. Characters are really important to me and they affect how I feel about a novel. I can continue on with a book, whose plot is rubbish but the characters are amazing. Suffice to say, Marissa Meyer excelled in the creation of these characters. My favourites were Cress, Throne, Cinder, Kai and Iko. The banter between Cress and Throne had me giggling while Iko and her inability to judge a situation had me cringing and smiling like a goof.

A character who I’m still unclear about is Levana. I still don’t properly know her motives and why she’s doing what she’s doing. Maybe Fairest can clear up some of my questions but I’ve heard that its a pointless read. I won’t be reading it before Winter, unless someone tells me otherwise.

If your reading this review then you probably know that the main character of each book is featured for a bit in the previous book. So in Cress we got an introduction to Winter. She seems intriguing and mysterious am I’m excited to find out more about her.

Overall, I loved Cress. The best one so far. Could Winter overtake it? We’ll have to see.

If you’ve read Cress, leave me a comment telling what you thought.

As always, thanks for reading

Marian

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cress

  1. I’m reading this at the moment (as I keep saying EVERYWHERE haha) and this review just made me so much more excited to read more of it! I didn’t even realize that you see the main character of the next book introduced slightly at the end of each book 😀 Now I’m excited to find out who Winter is!

    Like

Leave a Reply

