Top5Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Diverse characters

Hey guys,

It’s been 9 days since I last did a post here.

So what been going since then? Well, school has literally been taking over my life. I have had absolutely no time to do anything fun. (argh!!!)

Anyway, I wanted to get this post up even though its 2 days late.

In this I’ll be telling you guys my Top 5 Diverse characters.

So without further ado, let’s get on with this tag!

c53167a0393cf0e740f25c9b27a173a7

1. Magnus Bane

Magnus Bane is one of my favourite characters from The Mortal Instruments series. He’s so sassy and funny and so glad that there is whole book all about him which I can’t wait to read it. Mr Bane is a bisexual warlock making him super diverse in YA literature.

8050cdc34b24ee273396658ce40a4297

2. Damien Maslin

From the minute I met Damien in Marked, I fell in love. He’s clever and funny. He was also one of my first introductions into a gay main character. One of the reasons I love Damien so much is because the authors didn’t let his sexuality be his “main” thing, if you get what I mean. Loads of authors do that but people are so much more than their sexuality.

13

3. Jem

Jem is half-Asian and is definitely a favourite all-time character of mine. He’s so sweet and lovely and the one I pick in the hotly debated Will/Jem saga. I liked how Cassandra Clare added an Asian character into a Victorian setting which I believe would not have been in the norm back then.

throne-of-glass-nehemia

4. Nehima

Nehima was a character I didn’t know how I felt about at first but then she grew on me. I loved her in Throne of Glass and I adored the friendship she and Celena had. She added so much to that first book. And I won’t say anymore because of spoilers lol!

images

5. Park

Eleanor and Park is novel that I read last year that I fell in love with. When I say I loved this book, I mean I LOVED it. Park is an Asian-American who forms a beautiful, realistic relationship with Eleanor. Rainbow Rowell wrote this love story in such a relatable and true way that you can’t help but love it. I only wished that we got a proper ending. Or an epilogue, maybe?!

So there you have it, my top 5 diverse characters.

I love them all and we really need to see more diversity in literature.

I love learning and reading about new cultures and people.

The world is full of several types of people and why can’t that be represented in the books we read?

As always, thanks for reading.

Marian

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Diverse characters

Leave a Reply

