Review

Book Review: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

Theboyinthestripedpyjamas

Hey guys,

So The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas was a book I first discovered when I found that the movie that was being released was based on a book. Its taken me 7 years to finally get round to reading it and man was it worth the wait.

If you don’t know what this book is about, its about these two boys who are from opposite sides of the Nazi war. It’s a tale of about friendship, how it can overcome any barrier and how a little bit of compassion can go a long way.


Rating: 5 stars

Pages: 224 

Summary: 

Berlin, 1942: When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move to a new house far, far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people in the distance.
 
But Bruno longs to be an explorer and decides that there must be more to this desolate new place than meets the eye. While exploring his new environment, he meets another boy whose life and circumstances are very different from his own, and their meeting results in a friendship that has devastating consequences.


When I finished this book I had to take a few minutes and process what I had just read. It usually takes a lot for me to be fully rendered speechless by a book and I can count on one hand the amount of times its happened.

As you can guess, anything World War 2 related can be a bit distressing. If I watch or read anything about this topic, I’m usually pretty beat down for the rest of the day. Having said that, this isn’t a book that will bring you down. The love and the friendship between these boys gave the book a somewhat happier tone.

The book is written simply since it is a children’s book, however I did not find it tedious. I like that the author wrote it in that way because it gives the story a much more realistic and believable narrative. The story is told in third person from Bruno’s perspective. By doing this, we really get to see how innocent and naive Bruno is from all the things that are happening around him.

Furthermore, I absolutely loved the main character Bruno as well as the boy who was behind the fence. The other characters were great too and were a welcome addition to the story.

One thing I want to mention was John Boyne’s method of inferring and not showing and I what I mean by that is the author allowed us, the readers, to make our own interpretations on the events that occur. They were many times that this happened in the book which made the story so much more heart-renching.

To conclude, I loved this book so much and because I read as an ebook its definitely one I want to own and have in my library. So if you haven’t read it, I urge you (please!!!) to pick it up and give it a read.

If you have read The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, please leave me a comment telling me what you thought.

Thanks

BOOKCEPTION21

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

  1. I read this book when I was a child and I loved it so much!. Not many books made me cry but this one did. I liked how Bruno’s relationship with his friends from Berlin changes. And also I thought the difference between Bruno and his sister is incredible, given they have the same education and the same parents.
    However I was a little disappointed by the movie, it didn’t give me feelings I got from the book. Did you watch it ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t watched the movie unfortunately but I am very intrigued to see how it translates to the big screen.

      It was weird seeing how siblings can be so different despite living in the same household and exposed to the same things.

      For such a small book, it does pack a punch. One of best reads I have read this year. 💟

      Like

Leave a Reply

