Tags

Time of Day Tag

Hey guys, this is gonna to be a quick post where I’ll be answering the questions to the Time of Day Tag. So let’s begin…

1. Time to wake up.
A book that opened your eyes to a genre you didn’t previously read

This has to be historical fiction which was introduced me properly by the book The Red Queen by Phillipa Gregory. It was a book that made history ‘fun’ to read about even though the author does take certain liberties. Now historical fiction has become one of my favourite genres to read.

2. No time for breakfast.
A book that has been sitting on your shelf for ages.

The Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown. This has been a series that I have been meaning to read for ages. I’ve got the first two book series on my bookshelf and I hope to get to them soon.

3. Time to travel to work.
A book you read whilst travelling.

This would be the first four book in the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. They came in a box set and I took the whole thing with me on my holidays. It always makes me laugh on how much space it took in my suitcase and how great it would have been to have had an e-reader at the time.

4. You’ve had a hard time at work.
A book you struggled to get through.

Any pre-TFIOS book by John Green. At the beginning of the year, I read Paper Towns which was undoubtedly the worse book I have read to-date so far this year. I had read Looking for Alaska last year and the thing I did not like about both of these books was the main female protagonists whom were annoying, selfish girls that didn’t care how their actions affected the people around them.

5. Lunch time.
A quick and easy read.

The Wrath and Dawn by Renée Ahdieh, whose fluid writing and compelling story allowed me to fly through the book. Another book was The Deal by Elle Kennedy. I account this to the fact that it had a good plot and likeable characters which consequently made me stay up late into the night so I could find out what happened.

6. Time for your performance review.
A book you bought because of a review you read/watched.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson and the Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. The first book was hyped up on Booktube so much that it peaked my interest enough to buy it. The latter was also Booktube but also recommendations on Goodreads. I think I would have gotten round to Brandon Sanderson’s book in the end but by the power of recommendations I came across them much sooner.

7. Time to travel home.
A book that follows a character on some kind of journey.

This was a hard question for me and in the end I chose The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. The main protagonist goes on a journey in order to find safety from a secret he discovers in the swamps.

8. Dinner time and conversation.
A book you don’t hear people talk about much, but you loved.

The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson. This book is a book I feel like is overlooked a lot especially in the Booktube community as well as in real life. I read these book about 3/4 years ago and I throughly enjoyed them. I would love if more people read it so they could experience its epicness too.

9. Time to zone out in front of the TV.
Your favourite book that has been turned into a movie or TV show.

Simple. Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling (obviously!), A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R.Martin and The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

10. Bedtime.
The book that is currently on your night stand.

I currently have four books on the books on the go at the moment and they are: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, Day of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor and lastly Yes Please by Amy Poehler. I think I’m experiencing a slight reading slump as I keep up picking up books that I ain’t finishing.

11. Night-time.
A book you couldn’t put down so you stayed up way too late reading

They were: The Deal, The Wrath and Dawn, The Girl Who Played With Fire and All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. 

So those are my answers to the questions of the tag. I hope you liked it.

Thanks for reading

BOOKCEPTION21

Leave a Reply

