Tags

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Books of the year so far!

IMG_4968

I’ve read a total of 18 books this year so far. This to some may not be a lot but with school and everything I feel like I have accomplished a lot. I haven’t yet enter my bookish stride which I hope to do this summer (three months off school, yay!!!)

So without further ado my top 5 books are:

5. Fifty Shades Darker by E.L.James

I read this book pretty much straight after I read the first. I had no intention of ever picking the books but the movie really intrigued and I wanted to see it. And me being me, I have to read the book before I watch a movie/tv show. Basically, the end of the first book kind of ends on a cliffhanger which obviously led to me wanting to know exactly what happened next. A few clicks later and I’ve downloaded the book on my kindle. I like the character and plot progression in this book. How Christian is dealing with his demons with the help of Ana and how Ana is coming out of her shell to find herself. Their relationship is slightly messed up and I blame Christian and all his problems. Ultimately, I would recommend this particular book to people who read the first (duh?!) and wanted to know how the characters have progressed from their first meeting.

4. Cinder by Marrisa Meyer

Many will know that this a Cinderella retelling with sci-fi elements to it. I had never really read a fairytale retelling and so this was my first and I have to say I really enjoyed it. I love the fact that you can see the backbone of the Cinderella fairy tale and how Marissa Meyer has built upon it. I like the plot and the characters in addition to the way the next books in the series build on the first book but with the added bonus of different fairy tales to enriched an already great world. This is another book I urge people to read if you’re someone looking for a good, easy, fast-paced read.

3. A Dance with Dragons by George.R.R.Martin

If you know me than you know I am a BIG A Song and Ice and Fire fan. So this was the year that I tackle the last book this the series so far and the verdict is… I love it. As many people have said before the fourth was a slower read in general but I felt like I got to know the side characters in this story a lot more (like Brienne, Cersi, Jamie etc.) even though some of them didn’t really do much in the way of plot progression. I do consider it was necessary novel to round out the series out as a whole. However that is besides the point and this book provide me with the action and all round kick assness that I wanted from the fourth book. The ending was argggghhhh leaving me with the desire to get my hands on the next tome.

I was watching a review of an episode of the tv show Game of Thrones online and one of the hosts of the show put in my head a terrible thought. He said the he believed the George.R.R.Martin did NOT want to write the last two books the series because he’s tired of the world. It was kinda of said tongue-in-cheek (I hope) but it dawned on me that it may be a possibility. With so many (and I mean so many) unanswered questions being left unanswered it leaves me with a slight sense of apprehension that I can’t bear.

2. The Mistake/The Deal by Elle Kennedy

New adult is fast become one of my favourite genres at the moment. I find them so quick and easy to get through in addition to me becoming very attach to the characters in a very short space of time. The Deal was a one-sitting book for me which is rare to come by. I was so engrossed by the plot that I need to know what happened at the end. Also, the sexy time bits aren’t so labourious to read. I highly recommend this book to everyone as I think you’ll fall in love with the characters as much as I did. And a final note on this book is the the girl in the story went through something horrible and I admired the way she didn’t let it become a major obstacle in her life.

1. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

The reason that this is my favourite book of the year so far is because I have never read a high fantasy book that was so easy and uncomplicated to get through. Brandon Sanderson writes in such a way that he explains these made up concepts in a clear and precise way which I really appreciate. The thing that got me was the prologue. Usually in fantasy books (or the ones I’ve read) the prologue is slightly boring and I kinda dread them. However, in this book it was an enjoyable feat. Another thing about this book that I liked was the writing. It read like a movie for me and the dialogue was top notch. All in all I recommend this book to everyone and don’t be put off by the size, it flies by.

Those I my top 5 book for this week.

Thanks for reading

BOOKCEPTION21

Leave a Reply

